• Traci Royster
  • Fidel Leal
  • Ray Christian
  • Guin Thi
  • Susan M. Branch ’99
  • Kemal Atkins ’92 ’96
  • Sarah Mbiki
  • Brian Shangwa ’15

Diversity initiatives

Chancellor's Commission on Diversity

Chancellor Kenneth E. Peacock formed the 35-member Chancellor’s Commission on Diversity in Spring 2013 to ensure Appalachian is a welcoming community of scholars which values, respects and embraces diversity across all units.

The commission’s main purpose is to make recommendations of policy, process and practice around the very broad topic of diversity, a core value at Appalachian. This is an issues-oriented working group with a focus on a broad array of matters, including student success and campus climate, among others.

Learn more

Appalachian's strategic plan process

Embracing diversity of thought, belief and community is one of six strategic directions in Appalachian’s Strategic Plan for 2014-19.

Learn more

Campus diversity update - May 13, 2016

Update on diversity initiatives at Appalachian - August 27, 2015