Chancellor’s Student Advisory Board for Diversity Recruitment

Founded November 2014

Students of color comprise less than 15% of the current Appalachian student body. Data from fall 2003 - 2012 shows that the Black/African-American enrollment has not significantly increased over the years, even as the total enrollment has grown significantly over the same period of time. Recognizing this, the Chancellor has directed Enrollment Management (Admissions) to devise a plan to create greater involvement by current Appalachian students in a variety of ways, but specifically to listen to current students of color on their experiences at Appalachian, and to review and implement key elements and recommendations from older plans for recruitment of students of color. A key element of this proposal will be to establish a new committee of students, to be called the Chancellor's Student Advisory Board for Diversity Recruitment, to work closely with Enrollment Management (Admissions) and the Office of Equity, Diversity and Compliance and reporting to the Chancellor to improve enrollment of students of color at Appalachian.


The purpose of creating the Chancellor’s Student Advisory Board for Diversity Recruitment is to share experiences, create suggestions, and actively recruit students of color in order to effectively recruit and enroll a more nationally representative student body.

Project Description

This board will meet on a monthly basis in order to schedule/plan events to engage/recruit prospective students of color. While discussing new initiatives, the board will also review previous diversity recruitment plans and retention efforts in order to devise an action plan for this coming year.

Organization Details

The board will consist of 16 student leaders (varying from freshmen to seniors) representing various Multicultural Student Organizations, as well as several Members “At Large” and will be co-advised by Enrollment Management (Admissions), the Office of Equity, Diversity and Compliance, and the Chancellor's Office: Susan Davies, Bindu Jayne, and Willie Fleming.

2016-17 Representatives

Student group
Class of


You may contact the Board at