Advisory Boards

Chief Diversity Officer’s Advisory Board

The Chief Diversity Officer’s Advisory Board, previously known as the Chancellor’s Commission on Diversity, was formed in 2013 to ensure Appalachian is a welcoming community of scholars who value, respect and embrace diversity across all units.

The board’s main purpose is to make recommendations of policy, process and practice around diversity. This is an issues-oriented working group with a focus on student success and campus climate, among others. At the charge of Chancellor Sheri Everts, this group presented to the Chancellor in 2015, 14 proposals, listed below, focused on the recruitment and retention of students, staff and faculty from underrepresented groups. Those proposals have been consciously explored with many completed, in progress and more under consideration. Learn more about Appalachian’s milestones regarding diversity and inclusion

2021-22 board members

  • Dr. Barbara Howard
    Professor of School Administration, Department of Leadership and Educational Studies, Curriculum Specialist Program
  • Cindy Barr
    Associate Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Management
  • Dr. Claudia Cartaya-Marin
    Professor and Department Chair, Department of Chemistry
  • Gabby Dickey
    Assistant Director, Fitness
  • Dr. Greg McClure
    Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
  • Heather Langdon
    Executive Director, Institutional Research, Assessment and Planning
  • Dr. James Douthit
    Dean, Hayes School of Music
  • Jerisha Farrer
    Assistant Director, Intercultural Student Affairs
  • Dr. Kim Hall
    Professor of Philosophy, Department of Philosophy and Religion
  • Lamont Sellers
    Director of Intercultural Student Affairs
  • Dr. Nancy Love
    Professor of Political Science, Department of Government and Justice Studies
  • Dr. Precious Mudiwa
    Professor of School Administration, Department of Leadership and Educational Studies
  • Shakinah Simeona-Lee
    Sr. Associate Director for Diversity Initiatives, Admissions
  • Dr. Sushmita Chatterjee
    Associate Professor of Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Dr. Tammy Wahpeconiah
    Professor, Department of English
  • Dr. Ted Zerucha
    Professor and Director of General Education, Development and Evolution, Department of Biology
  • Terri Lockwood
    Director of Marketing Communications and Inclusion, University College

Proposals from the Chief Diversity Officer’s Advisory Board

  1. Engage a consultant to provide education to all supervisors on the topic of creating an inclusive campus.
  2. Implement a bias incident response process. This recommendation was provided not only by the advisory board, but also the preceding Taskforce on Diversity.
  3. Create an online search committee compliance module.
  4. Related to the item above, another proposal recommended that search committees be provided face-to-face education about the ways implicit bias can affect search processes.
  5. Expand the exit interview process.
  6. Create a formal mentoring program for students from underrepresented groups.
  7. Increase awareness of university policies and student conduct processes related to individual and group harassment and discrimination.
  8. Assess the feasibility of a complete implementation of the holistic review process in admissions. This proposal would expand the breadth of the holistic review process that admissions currently engages in when reviewing applications for incoming students.
  9. Translate admissions materials into Spanish and provide informational sessions and campus tours in Spanish catering to families for which Spanish is the primary language in the home. Survey prospective students to assess whether there is a need to provide such services in additional languages.
  10. Formalize relationships with secondary schools and community-based organizations in areas with a greater density of underrepresented populations.
  11. Implement a strategy that provides access to hair services for students of color.
  12. Conduct a campus climate survey every three years and annual focus groups to assess the inclusive nature of the campus.
  13. Identify and reward initiatives pertaining to outstanding work in the field of diversity by individual students, faculty and staff, student groups and departments/units on campus.
  14. Revamp and restore the faculty fellows program in order to better recruit faculty members with a demonstrated commitment to diversity in their respective areas of study.

Details on the progress of these proposals and other initiatives related to diversity and inclusion

Chancellor’s Student Advisory Board for Diversity Recruitment

Founded in November 2014, the Chancellor's Student Advisory Board for Diversity Recruitment was created to share experiences, create suggestions and actively recruit underrepresented students in order to have a more representative student body. The board consists of student leaders representing various student organizations, as well as several members “at large” and is co-advised by Enrollment Management, the Chief Diversity Officer and the Chancellor's Office.

2021-22 board members

  • Kyra Scott, president
  • Bailey Gardin
  • Berenice Blanco
  • Brenda Najera-Angel
  • Charlee Douglas
  • Ebube Bobby-Tasie
  • Hudson Miller
  • Jemiah Williams
  • McKenzie Mack
  • Nataly Jaimes Jimenez
  • Sequan Patterson
  • Shania McIntyre
  • Thelma Vambe